Sherman County CourthouseSherman County located in the top tier of counties in the uppermost part of Texas panhandle is the home to 3186 people. The topography is level, broken by creeks and playas. The weather conditions are semi-arid with the average annual rainfall of 18.36 inches and snowfall of 15.8 inches. The annual average temperature is 56 F.

Agriculture and petroleum are the key components of the local economy. Major crops produced in the county are wheat, corn, cotton, and grain sorghum, which provide feed for the large livestock feeding industry. Underground water supports the irrigation of crops.

The county seat is Stratford which is located at the crossroads of two major highways and two major railways. Texhoma lies on the Texas and Oklahoma states borders in the northeastern part of the county. Both communities favors a rural lifestyle. Recreation activities to promote community fellowship include July 4th celebrations, Stratford Days, and Texhoma Fiesta Days, school activities and functions, and activities for senior citizens. Golf courses are located at Stratford and other communities within a 30 minute drive. Fishing, swimming, and boating can be enjoyed at several area lakes located within 80 miles of the communities. Hunting is limited to pheasant and white-tail deer during limited seasons.

The Extension Program, directed by the Sherman County Leadership Advisory Board, strives to serve a population who derives its main income from production agriculture mainly wheat, corn, cotton, cattle, and swine. Our physical address is located on the Northwest corner of the Sherman County Courthouse, also known as the annex building.

Our Mission is to provide quality, relevant outreach and continuing education programs and services to the people of Sherman County.

Extension brings the resources of the Texas A&M University System to Sherman County. Through field based faculty, Extension provides unbiased, research-based information, educational programs, and technical assistance in the following core service areas: agriculture, community and economic development, family and consumer sciences, and youth development.


Comments are closed.